KP-WC claims Western Valley Conference track titles

Monday, May 9, 2022

SLOAN — The KP-WC track and field teams swept the team titles at the Western Valley Conference track meet hosted by Westwood on Tuesday.


The KP-WC girls won the conference meet for the fourth year in a row.

The team got a gold and bronze in the long jump as Aubree Bell won by over a foot with a leap of 17-01.50 and Lexi McElrath took third with a leap of 14-11.25.

The KP-WC sprint medley team won by nearly three seconds over next-best Westwood. McElrath, McKenzie Goodwin, Allison Reinking and Erika Kuntz made up the winning relay which finished in 1:54.87.

Bell had the only sub-13 second time in the 100 meter dash, winning with a time of 12.68.

Kuntz was the only runner to finish in under a minute in the 400 meter dash. She clocked a time of 58.52 to complete the lap and was nearly four seconds faster than second place.

Bell and Kuntz raced against each other in the 200 and took the top two spots. Kuntz edged out the win in a time of 25.68 while Bell finished in 25.89. Those times were about two seconds faster than the third place time.

The girls 4x200 team edged out a win by .26 of a second over Ridge View. Bowman, Goodwin, Beelner and Reinking won the race in 1:51.59.

The 4x100 team of Bowman, Goodwin, Avery Schroeder and Bell posted the winning time of 51.93 as they were over a second faster than the runner-up time.

The team ended the night with a win in the 4x400 as they cruised to an 18 second margin of victory. Bowman, Goodwin, Reinking and Kuntz had the winning time of 4:13.16.

Along with their eight event wins, the KP-WC team had several other top three finishes.

CJ Hannah was second in the 3000 meter run with a time of 12:18.95. Jaycie Vohs of Ridge View won with a time of 11:41.22.

The 4x800 team placed second, about a quarter of a minute behind Lawton-Bronson. The group of Countryman, Hanna Willer, Lillian Ofert and Sarahy Hamman finished in 11:01.16.

The team also trailed the Eagles in the distance medley. Avery Schroeder, Reinking, Brooklyn Beelner and Lillian Ofert ended in 4:40.76 to finish about seven seconds behind the winning time.

The team had two in the top three in the discus. Ridge View’s Katie Pickhinke won with a throw of 121-10, but KP-WC had the only other throws past the 100-foot mark as Allie Schweitzberger was second at 106-08 and Lynsey Countryman was third at 100-07. Schweitzberger added a third place shot put with a distance of 31-06.50 as Pickhinke swept the throws with a win at 33-02.75.

Ofert finished third in the 800 with a time of 2:37.20 as she was exactly a second behind runner-up Willow Fluent and a little over six seconds behind winner Jolee Mesz, both from Lawton-Bronson.

Team scores: KP-WC 168.33, Ridge View 129.33, Lawton-Bronson 109, OABCIG 56, Westwood 47, West Monona 37, MVAOCOU 22.33, River Valley 18, Siouxland Christian 2.


The KP-WC boys also brought home a conference championship at the end of the night. It is the team’s first conference crown since the 2017 season. The team was second in 2018 and 2021, fourth in 2019 and there was no season in 2020. The KP-WC boys had won seven in a row from 2011 through 2017.

Beau Goodwin picked up a win in the high jump with a top height of 6-01 as he was five inches above the next-best height.

The team’s next win included Goodwin again as he ran the first leg of the shuttle hurdle relay which won by about a second. The other three hurdlers were Grant Schroeder, Luke Paulsen and Conner Beelner as the group finished in a time of 1:02.93.

Braden Coulter added an individual gold in the 100 meter dash with a time of 11.40 seconds to win by a tenth of a second. Teammate Damon Schmid placed fourth in the event with a time of 11.73.

The team’s last individual win came in the 400 meter hurdles as Grant Schroeder clocked a time of 56.05 to edge out West Monona’s Micah Ferrens by .23 of a second. Beelner had the third place time of 59.25 which was the last sub-minute time.

KP-WC had the last of their five event wins in the 4x100. The team of Schmid, Coulter and Kaleb and Carter Bleil finished in a time of 44.48 seconds to finish just in front of Lawton-Bronson’s 44.67 time.

KP-WC added to their point scoring with several other high placing finishes. Schmid placed second in the long jump with a leap of 19-04.25 to finish 10 inches behind OABCIG’s Gabe Winterrowd. Josh Harvey hit the sand at 19 feet to place fourth in the event.

Luke Paulsen added a discus silver medal with a throw of 138-09 as Joel Nakazawa of OABCIG had the winning toss of 149-06.

The sprint medley team placed second as they were three seconds behind the winning Lawton-Bronson quartet. Harvey, the Bleils and Schroeder turned in a time of 1:38.96.

The team finished second in the 4x200 as Schmid, Carter Bleil, Harvey and Coulter completed the race in 1:34.18, trailing only Lawton-Bronson’s time of 1:33.44.

The team took second and third in the 110 meter hurdles. Schroeder took silver with a time of 16.29 and Beelner was next with a time of 16.68. West Monona’s Brad Bellis had the winning time of 15.27.

It was a similar situation in the 200 as the team took silver and bronze. Coulter finished in 23.45, a tenth of a second behind race winner Louden Grimsley of Lawton-Bronson, while Harvey added a third place time of 24.31.

The team placed third in the 4x800, about 10 seconds off the winning pace from Ridge View. Tristen Jessen, Zach Butler, Wyatt Ofert and Aiden O’Mara completed the race in 8:57.23.

It was another bronze in the distance medley as Casey Neumann, Kaleb Bleil, Goodwin and Jessen finished in 3:52.46, just under three seconds behind the winning West Monona team.

O’Mara placed third in the 800 with a time of 2:10.73. He was just .12 behind the second place time and a little under two seconds behind race winner Travis Wiese of Ridge View.

Wyatt Ofert was third behind a pair of West Monona runners in the 1600. Ofert finished in 5:07.26 as Eein McKinley won in 5:01.04.

Team scores: KP-WC 158, West Monona 104, Ridge View 95, Lawton-Bronson 88, OABCIG 63, Westwood 43, MVAOCOU 21, Siouxland Christian 17.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: