Le Mars, Akron-Westfield have successful finishes at Le Mars Invite

Tuesday, January 17, 2023
(Photo By Roy Tucker) Le Mars Community’s Camden Feuerhelm pins Akron-Westfield’s Ian Blowe in the title match at 195 pounds.

LE MARS — The Le Mars Community and Akron-Westfield wrestling teams each crowned individual champions at the Le Mars Invite on Saturday.

Le Mars

The Bulldogs came away with a pair of champions in the 195 and 220 pound weight classes. At 195, Camden Feuerhelm won the title. He opened with a bye and then won his quarterfinal round match by fall in 46 seconds over Lucas Kooima from Western Christian. It was a 14-0 major decision win for the Bulldog in the semifinals as he outscored Sioux Center’s Jacques Zomermaand. In the first place match, Feuerhelm pinned Akron-Westfield’s Ian Blowe in 3:25.

Ayden Hoag won the 220 class. He opened with a bye and then pinned his next two opponents, Cherokee’s Colton Happe and Reagan Maassen of Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley, in the first period. In the title bout, Hoag won a 12-4 major decision over Bellevue’s Jack Hiland. Hoag reached 100 career victories during the tournament.

Keegan Kayser was runner-up for the team at 145. Kayser outscored Cherokee’s Tru Timmerman for a 13-3 major decision win in the first round. The rest of his matches were much closer. He edged West Sioux’s Zac Finzen by a 3-1 score and then won in an ultimate tiebreaker round over Bellevue’s Jake Hiland. In the first place match, Kayser came up just short in a 3-1 decision loss to BH/RV wrestler Brock Mulder.

Alex Allen added the other runner-up spot at 160. After a bye he won his next two matches, beating Tyson Getting of Sheldon/South O’Brien 13-7 and Logan Allender of Cherokee 14-2. In the title match, Allen lost a close 8-7 decision to BH/RV’s Zach Strubbe.

(Photo By Roy Tucker) Le Mars Community’s Alex Allen wrestles in the 160 championship against Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley’s Zach Strubbe. Allen took runner-up in the division.

Other placing individuals for the Bulldogs were Conner Peterson (4th-132), Matthew Vondrak (4th-152), Michael Murra (5th-138), Arik Burnett (5th-170), Brock Hessenius (6th-113) and Levi Schnetzer (7th-126).


The Westerners had one division title at the event as Cael Morrow claimed the 113 bracket. He started with a bye and then pinned his next two opponents, Sioux City North’s Axel Gonzalez in 3:10 and Sioux City East’s Danny Cleveland in 1:52. In the first place match, he won an 8-0 major decision over Gabino Vargas of BH/RV.

Ian Blowe was runner-up at 195 following his loss by fall in 3:25 to Feuerhelm of Le Mars. He had a dominant run before that with a bye and two wins by fall in under a minute. He pinned Joseph Blotzer of AHSTW in 40 seconds in the quarterfinals and won in 18 seconds in the semifinals over Sheldon/South O’Brien’s Zach Brinkmann.

The team added a bronze to their gold and silver as Jadyn Friedrichs took third place at 126. He pinned his first two opponents, Aiden Harms of Bellevue in 1:32 and Schnetzer of Le Mars in 3:15. In the semifinal round, he lost a close 9-8 decision to Hinton’s Ethan Sachau. The A-W wrestler capped off the day with a third place match win by fall in 5:10 over Angel Gasca of BH/RV.

Elijah Medina (5th-132), Ben Philips (6th-120) and Kaden Joy (8th-160) were the other placing wrestlers for the team.

Team scores: Hinton 206, Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley 197.5, Le Mars 171, Sioux Falls Lincoln 159, Sioux Center 105, West Sioux 96.5, Akron-Westfield 96, Sheldon/South O’Brien 93.5, AHSTW 85, Sibley-Ocheyedan 74, Western Christian 65, Cherokee 63, Bellevue 60, Sioux City East 55, Sioux City North 40, Spirit Lake Park 39, Sioux City West 30.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: