Le Mars wins MRAC girls wrestling tournament

Monday, November 21, 2022

SIOUX CITY — The Le Mars Community girls wrestling team won their first tournament in the inaugural sanctioned season for the sport by the IGHSAU. The Bulldogs faced off against the rest of the Missouri River Activities Conference teams in a conference tournament hosted by Sioux City North on Thursday.

Le Mars had six division champions at the event. At 105 pounds, Le Mars had the first and second place wrestlers. Keira Hessenius was the champion, winning her two matches by fall. She pinned Daniela Salinas of the Council Bluffs Co-op team in 1:00 and won in 2:52 over teammate Hadassa Vasquez. Vasquez beat Salinas in 46 seconds.

At 110, Adriana Guerrero won all three matches by fall. She pinned Sioux City West’s Diem Nguyen in 24 seconds in the quarterfinals, dropped Sioux City East’s Tagan Kelley Case in 39 seconds in the semifinals and beat teammate Kirsten Ritz in 2:00 in the first place match. Ritz was the runner-up after she pinned Skylar Thurman of Council Bluffs in 3:00 and won by a 21-5 technical fall over North’s Yuneisy Mejia in the semifinals.

Kylie Hessenius opened with a bye before pinning her next two opponents to claim the 115 weight class. She won by fall in 1:05 over West’s Roselyn Narcia and in 1:21 over East’s Aubrey Vedral.

Kirsten Tyler went 3-0 to win the 125 class. She pinned all three of her opponents, West’s Melonie Barillas (0:36), North’s Analicia Salas (0:21) and Sergeant Bluff-Luton’s Kendra Berglund (1:04).

Sophie Bauman was first in the 130 Silver division. She pinned her two opponents, Chloe Wieland of Council Bluffs (1:54) and Surreal Taylor of East (2:47).

The other champion for the Bulldogs came at 170 as Savanna Salen earned a bye and then earned two pins. She won in 16 seconds over Council Bluffs’ Giselle Coleman and won the first place match over teammate Desiree Breuer in 3:41. Breuer pinned her other two opponents to reach the first place bout.

Briar Hoppe was second at 130, winning her first two matches by fall in 1:09 over West’s Nyamal Koang and 1:34 over East’s Corinne Parry. She dropped the first place match to Cierra Wieland of Council Bluffs in 33 seconds.

Bailey Brady and Mackenna Frerichs took second and third in the 120 division. Marilyn Roller and Madalyn Johnson were third and fourth in the 125 silver division.

Zoey Jeppesen was third at 190 Silver. Autumn Olsen, Kerene Panya and Jacey Theisen all claimed fourth place in their divisions. Mac Ciaffa was fifth in the 140 class.

Team scores: Le Mars 163, Council Bluffs Co-op 147.5, Sioux City West 118, Sioux City East 110, Sioux City North 98, Sergeant Bluff-Luton 84.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: