LCS musicians selected for All-State

Friday, November 11, 2022
(Photo contributed) Le Mars Community High School musicians chosen for the 2022 All-State Music Festival are, from left, Asher Moss, Blake Daale, Beau Pravecek, Henry Marienau, Abigail Tilberg, Brock Feldman, Greta Tilberg, Samuel Johnson, Bradyn Anderson, Ryder Mullally, Spencer Schnetzer, and Jacob Hargens.

LE MARS — It was a busy day for Le Mars Community High School musicians Oct. 22 as they not only auditioned but were also a host school for the 2022 All-State Music Festival auditions.

At the end of the day, 12 LCHS musicians were selected for the All-State Music Festival or chosen as alternates.

Band members selected are Asher Moss, sophomore, percussion, 1st alternate; Blake Daale, junior, oboe, 1st year; Henry Marienau, senior, trumpet, 1st year; Samuel Johnson, senior, trombone, 1st alternate; Bradyn Anderson, junior, alto sax, 2nd year; Spencer Schnetzer, senior, trombone, 3rd year; and Jacob Hargens, sophomore, tuba, 1st alternate.

Choir members selected are Beau Pravecek, senior, bass in choir, 1st year, and Ryder Mullally, sophomore, bass, 1st alternate.

Orchestra members selected are Brock Feldman, senior, bassoon, 1st year; Abigail Tilberg, senior, violin, 3rd year, and Greta Tilberg, sophomore, violin, 2nd year.

Being selected as an alternate means that a student is an All-State-caliber musician, but there simply are not enough spots available, said LCHS Band Director Michael Prichard.

LCHS orchestra director is Ted Hallberg and vocal music director is Josie Krook.

Students began working on the audition music in late July.

The music for choir consists of the songs they will sing at the All-State Festival Concert.

The music for string instruments consists of excerpts from the songs they will perform.

The band students prepare two or three etudes, depending on the instruments.

All instruments play memorized scales, too, Prichard explained.

Students will head to the campus of Iowa State University on Thursday, Nov. 17, and perform that Saturday evening, Nov. 19. The concert will air on IPTV on Thanksgiving day at 7 p.m. 

The All-State Band, Choir, and Orchestra are made up of the top 1-2 percent of all musicians in the state of Iowa, and is the highest individual honor a student can receive.

“Our students will join nearly 1,000 other students from across the state to rehearse and perform some outstanding music at a very high level. It is an experience unlike any other,” Prichard said.

The guest conductors this year are:

Band: Dr. Kevin Sedatole, Director of Bands at Michigan State University. 

Choir: Dr. Bruce Chamberlain, professor emeritus of music at The University of Arizona

Orchestra: Mr. Allen Tinkham, Music Director of Chicago Youth Symphony Orchestras.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: