Webner recognizes LCS school board

Wednesday, May 22, 2019

LE MARS — The Iowa Association of School Boards sponsors School Board Recognition Month each May to honor the volunteer board members who serve on Iowa’s 330 local school boards, nine area education agency boards, and 15 community college boards.

This year’s theme is “Superheroes for Public Education.”

At the May 13 meeting of the Le Mars Community Schools board of education, Superintendent Dr. Steven Webner recognized members with a certificate and a thank you.

“I’d like to take this time to thank the school board. It’s often a thankless job. You volunteer to do this and make some crucial decisions for the students of Le Mars which impacts the entire community many, many times. We’d like to take this opportunity to thank you for everything that you do,” Webner said to the board.

“There’s a reason all those plaques are up there on the wall,” Webner said, pointing to the line of photos honoring the board with the Better Boardsmanship Award from IASB for 18 years in a row.

“Le Mars Community School Board is considered by many around the state as one of the best school boards in the state and I would concur with that,” Webner said. “At this time, we have a great Superheroes for Public Education certificate.”

Certificates were presented to Patrick Murphy, Todd Lancaster, Angela Catton, Dave Miller, Scott Kommes, Jane Arnold and Fred Zenk.

Lancaster, board president, added his thanks. “Thank you everybody for for all your time you put in here. It’s greatly appreciated.”

School board members do not receive compensation. In addition to two monthly meetings, the LCS board members often attend IASB sponsored meetings on topics such a risk management, financial management, and human resources as well as attending the IASB Convention in Des Moines and the national school board convention each year.

LCS board members are elected for four-year terms, with elections every two years.

Also at the May 13 board meeting, three resignations and five contracts were acted on.

Resignations approved include:

Alexis TeBrink, Franklin IMC Associate, who resigned her position effective at the conclusion of the school year.

Benji Kasel, who resigned his position as assistant boys basketball coach.

Doug Carlsen, who resigned his position as high school custodian effective May 17.

Contracts were approved for:

Karlton Hector, activities director, $6,500.97.

Susan Reed, high school IMC Associate, 6.5 hours per day/$16.89 per hour.

Alex Struck, assistant boys tennis coach, $2,676.87.

Katie Driggs, dance team coordinator, $2,294.46.

Kyle Formanek, high school associate principal, $90,000.

The board also approved a list anticipated classification changes for the 2019-20 school year.

The list consists of 16 certified teachers who have notified the school they will be taking classes this summer for credits toward advancing their degrees. The teachers filled out necessary paperwork for the notification.

In the fall, the teachers will submit their transcripts to show they completed their studies. At that time, the board will approve the change in classification and an increase in salary.

If all the teachers complete their work, the cost to the district due to lane changes on the salary schedule will amount to $41,595.78.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: