Lady Bulldogs take second at Cherokee Tomahawk Relays

Monday, April 8, 2019

CHEROKEE — The Le Mars Community girls track and field team trailed only conference rival Spencer in the Class 2A team standings at the Cherokee Tomahawk Girls Relays held Friday. The team scored 117 points while the Tigers turned in a team score of 166.5 at the meet.

“I’m very pleased with the team’s effort tonight, and really all week,” Le Mars Head Coach Tami Dunn said. “They’ve been working extremely hard and it is fun to see their efforts start to pay off in quality performances. The upperclassmen have really stepped up both competitively and in leading their younger teammates.”

The team’s first event win came in the 4x800 relay as Chloe Calhoun, Kara Albrecht, Paige Washburn and Sarah Meis raced to a time of 10:35.05 which was 21 seconds better than runner-up MOC-Floyd Valley.

That event came on the heels of two prior running events including the sprint medley race which saw the Bulldogs take third place. The group of Shaniah Temple, Avery Pratt, Emily Carlson and Katie Cunningham crossed the finish line in a time of 1:58.36 which was just over two seconds behind OABCIG’s winning time.

Maddie Hurt took fifth place in the 3000 meter run with her time of 12:08.32 just a few seconds removed from a third place finish. Bishop Heelan’s Amber Aesoph won the race by nearly a minute with a time of 10:47.72 which is the fifth-best time in Class 3A from across the state so far this season.

The Le Mars shuttle hurdle team finished in third place behind Spencer and MOC-Floyd Valley with the Dutch taking second place by nine-hundredths of a second. Brooke Alesch, Karlee Schiff, Lilly McNaughton and Kady Leusink finished in 1:14.87 which was three seconds behind the winning Tigers.

Spencer also claimed the win in the distance medley relay with their time of 4:36.84. The Le Mars team of Haylee Cooper, Carlson, Calhoun and Albrecht ended in 4:44.10 for second place.

Cunningham won the 400 meter race as she crossed the finish line in 1:03.95 to edge out a pair of Spencer runners by just over a second.

In the 4x200, Le Mars finished in third place behind OABCIG and Spencer with a time of 1:53.35 as Cooper, Pratt, Temple and Calhoun combined for the time.

It was another third place result in the next event of the 100 meter hurdles for Kady Leusink as she ended in 17.87 seconds, just a fraction of a second back of winner Abby Borth of Spencer.

Shaunna Schietler was sixth in the 200 as she finished six-hundredths above the half minute mark. Estherville-Lincoln Central’s Natalie Lausen turned in the fastest time of 28.08 seconds.

The 400 meter hurdles saw Schiff take second place in a time of 1:13.52. Her time was three seconds back of Emma Jenness of Spirit Lake Park.

Hurt followed up in the next event with another runner-up result in the 1500. She completed the race in 5:20.55 as she was four and a half seconds behind winner Emily Haverdink of MOC-Floyd Valley.

The Bulldogs took third place in the 4x100 race. Maddi Pippett joined Leusink, Pratt and Temple for a time of 54.39 which was about two and a half seconds behind OABCIG.

Le Mars closed the meet with a second place run in the 4x400. Albrecht, Cooper, Carlson and Calhoun teamed up for a time of 4:19.43 which trailed only Bishop Heelan who was about six seconds faster.

In the field events, Lilly McNaughton claimed a long jump victory. Her four jumps were all within three inches of each other as she reached her top distance of 15-00.50 on two separate jumps.

Leah Volkert took fourth in the discus. Her best throw of 94 feet came on her first attempt. Nicole Jacobson of Bishop Heelan had the best overall throw of 118-01. Volkert was seventh in the shot put with a top throw of 31-01.

Le Mars returns to action on Monday as they will be at Memorial Field in Sioux City in a meet hosted by Bishop Heelan.

Team scores (Class 2A): Spencer 166.5, Le Mars 117, OABCIG 103, Bishop Heelan 90, Spirit Lake Park 75.5, Ridge View 64, MOC-Floyd Valley 62, Estherville-Lincoln Central 54

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: