IHSAA reveals new Football Districts

Thursday, February 1, 2018

The Iowa High School Athletic Association came out with the new football districts for the 2018 and 2019 seasons on Friday, January 26.

MMCRU High School will be in Class A and placed in a six team district along with Akron-Westfield, Gehlen Catholic, Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn, Hinton, and South O’Brien. Coincidentally, all of the teams in Class A, District 1 are also members of the War Eagle Conference in other sports.

Gehlen Catholic finished the 2017 season 8-3 and graduated 13 seniors off of their playoff team. Akron-Westfield, Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn, and Hinton all finished last season at 5-4 and graduated 12, 9, and 7 seniors respectively. Hinton is moving down a class from 1A. Finally, South O’Brien is coming off a record of 2-7 and graduated six players.

With there only being six teams in the district, it means that the Royals will be playing four non-district games for the next two seasons. Each school is allowed to compile a list of seven teams who they would like to play a non-district game against, and the IHSAA will determine which four of those seven teams MMCRU will have on their schedule. That information will be released in the coming weeks.

The IHSAA also released the information that only 16 teams per class will qualify for the playoffs for the next two years. The district champion will be an automatic qualifier along with eight at-large teams which qualify through an RPI rating system.