Voters support new faces in election

Tuesday, November 7, 2017

PLYMOUTH CO. While voters in Plymouth County towns returned many incumbents to their seats as mayors and council members, there will be a new mayor for Hinton and new council members for seven communities.

According to the Plymouth County Auditor's Office, a total of 1,196 votes were cast across Plymouth County on Tuesday. Of that total, 75 were absentee ballots.

All totals are unofficial until canvassed by the Plymouth County Board of Supervisors.

Le Mars

For the Le Mars City Council, incumbent Rex Knapp was returned to his at-large seat with 200 votes. Close behind was challenger Dan Dembinski, who received 168 votes in for the seat.

Returning to seats on the council are Clark Goodchild, Ward 1, with 112 votes and Ken Nelson, Ward 3, with 67 votes.

Also running unopposed was Mayor Dick Kirchoff, who received 326 votes.

Two incumbents were re-elected to the Floyd Valley Healthcare Board of Trustees. Craig Bauerly had 313 votes and William E. Young had 284 votes.


Joseph Small was the top vote getter for Akron city council with 165 votes. Incumbent Alex Pick retained his seat with 134 votes. Other candidates were Ryan Bergman, 59 votes and Marcell Edward Hyer, 32 votes.

Three people were elected to the Akron Care Center trustee positions. Two newcomers, Carrie Wilken with 156 votes and Jeff Morehead with 149 votes, were elected, along with incumbent Margaret Correia, with 130 votes. Angela Auchstetter received 107 votes.


Brunsville Mayor Steve Dickman returns to his position with 33 votes.

Three people ran for two seats on the Brunsville city council. Kathleen Renken received 23 votes and Kenneth Krienert received 18 votes to return to their council seats.

Joshua Feller received 15 votes.

Ronald Ludwigs had 29 votes to fill a two-year vacancy on the council.


Barry Cornish received 11 votes to retain his seat as mayor at Craig.

There were five candidates, all incumbents on the ballot for the five seats on the Craig council.

Retaining their seats were Kelly Pleuger, 10 votes; Glenn Moller, 9 votes; Gary Schiltz, 9 votes; and Mona Schiltz, 6 votes. Write-in candidate Zach Northway received 6 votes and edged out incumbent Joyce Ludwigs, who received 4 votes.


At Hinton, Kelly Kreber is the new mayor, receiving 100 votes. Candidate Randy R. Roehrich received 54 votes.

Two council positions were up for election in Hinton.

New members elected to the Hinton city council are Katie Pierson, 129 votes, and Jeff Felts, 90 votes. Ryan M. Weber received 57 votes.


Kingsley Mayor Rick Bohle returns to his seat after receiving 76 votes in the election. He was unopposed.

All three candidates for city council were elected. Incumbent Neal Rolling had 82 votes, while newcomer Jason Jasperson came in second with 80 votes. Incumbent Ron Mathers was elected with 68 votes.


There will be one new face on the Merrill City Council.

Randy Hoyt came in second with 45 votes ahead of incumbent Roger Seiler who received 18 votes. Top vote getter was Jacob Conley with 53 votes.


There was no candidate on the ballot for mayor of Oyens, but Randy Kellen received 23 write-in votes to win the position.

For city council, write-in candidate Marcel Konz received 24 votes. Retaining their seats are incumbents Steven Swalve with 20 votes and Kathy Meis, with 17 votes.


There will be two new council members in Remsen. They are Ann M. Cole-Nelson, who had 117 votes and Joshua Hill who received 113 votes. Incumbent David Sonnichsen returns to his seat with 113 votes. Write-in candidate Mike Slota received 50 votes.


Joseph Vollmecke returns to his position as mayor of Struble after receiving 8 votes in Tuesday's election.

Five incumbents were re-elected to the city council, with each receiving nine votes. They are: Robert D. Hughes, Troy Hughes, Barry N. Jurgenson, Michael Vander Molen and Kenneth C. Urban.


Mayor Michael Tadlock was re-elected to his position with 28 votes.

There were only two candidates on the ballot for the three seats on city council. Incumbents James VM Feauto received 34 votes and Jenny Hartman-Mendoza received 29 votes.

Write-in Chad Carlson received 13 votes. There were also 25 votes listed in the scattering category.

Lisbeth A. Terpstra was elected to fill a two-year vacancy on the council. She received 33 votes.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: