2017 Akron-Westfield softball season recap

Wednesday, August 9, 2017
(Photo Contributed) Members of this year’s team included: front row (from left) — Melissa Meinen, Autumn Bundy, Jessica Hansen, Bailey Davis, Danika Tindall, Ann Hedlund, Megan Swancutt, Tori Nemesio. Second row — Head Coach Todd Colt, Jaden Harris, Kayla Johnson, Danika Smith, Alayna Mullinix, Hailey Wilken, Elise Knapp. Back row — Assistant Coach Kent Johnson, Kiana Appley, Courtney Waterbury, Brynn Van Eldik, Kailee Tucker, Kammi Bishop, Assistant Coach Kayla Tindall.

This season, the Akron-Westfield softball team finished with a record of 37-3 while going 11-0 in War Eagle Conference play. The Westerners made their 13th appearance at the state softball tournament in Fort Dodge and took fifth place. The team loses four seniors to graduation in Jessica Hansen, Bailey Davis, Ann Hedlund and Danika Tindall. The team was coached by Head Coach Todd Colt.

Team statistics

Wins 37
Losses 3
Runs for 424
Batting average .431
Runs allowed60

Individual statistics

Batting Average

Kiana Appley, JR.524
Brynn Van Eldik, JR.507
Jaden Harris, FR.473
Danika Smith, JR.460
Danika Tindall, SR.447


Brynn Van Eldik69
Kiana Appley65
Jaden Harris52
Danika Tindall51
Home Runs
Bailey Davis6
Danika Smith 4
Brynn Van Eldik 7
Danika Tindall1
Danika Smith15
Brynn Van Eldik11
Danika Tindall 10


Danika Tindall 46
Danika Smith42
Bailey Davis41
Jessica Hansen34
Brynn Van Eldik31

Stolen Bases

Brynn Van Eldik33
Danika Tindall24
Kiana Appley21
Jessica Hansen 16
Jaden Harris16

Runs scored

Brynn Van Eldik64
Kiana Appley64
Danika Tindall50
Hailey Wilken 45
Jaden Harris44


Danika Smith22
Ann Hedlund21
Kiana Appley20

Strikeouts (Pitching)

Ann Hedlund, SR114
Bailey Davis, SR93
Jaden Harris, FR21

ERA (MIN. 30 IP)

Bailey Davis0.81
Ann Hedlund1.62


Ann Hedlund18
Bailey Davis15

Innings Pitched

Ann Hedlund95
Bailey Davis78


Ann Hedlund19
Bailey Davis15

Opponent Batting Average

Ann Hedlund.173
Bailey Davis.173

War Eagle All-Conference

1st Team

Ann Hedlund

Danika Tindall

Brynn Van Eldik

2nd Team

Bailey Davis

Kiana Appley

Honorable Mention

Jaden Harris

Danika Smith

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: