[Masthead] Light Rain ~ 43°F  
High: 55°F ~ Low: 41°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Council sets 2013 assignments

Friday, February 1, 2013

Members of the Le Mars City Council will serve on committees in five areas during 2013.

Public Works Committee members are Councilman Ken Nelson and Rex Knapp.

The committee's responsibilities include public works; streets and lighting; public transit; Trees Forever and the city's airport.

Council members John Leonard and Delana Ihrke are members of the Public Safety Committee.

Leonard and Ihrke's responsibilities will include work with the Le Mars Civil Service Commission; Plymouth County E911; Plymouth County Emergency Management and the city's safety and public safety committees.

Utilities Committee members are Nelson and Councilman John Rexwinkel.

The committee assignments include water; wastewater; solid waste; storm water and the city of Le Mars Utility Board.

Ihrke and Leonard are members of the Community Services Committee.

The committee's responsibilities include work with the Le Mars Area Chamber of Commerce and Main Street; Le Mars Public Library; parks and recreation, senior citizens and cultural and arts.

Knapp and Rexwinkel will serve on the Le Mars City Council's Administration Committee.

They work with city committees in areas of collective bargaining with employees; insurance; administration and the city's legal and finance committees.

In addition to council members, Mayor Dick Kirchoff and members of the city's administrative staff and department heads attend council committee meetings.

The council decided to combine dozens of committee assignments into broader categories for 2013 and eliminated inactive committees.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Le Mars Daily Sentinel