[Masthead] Fog/Mist ~ 37°F  
High: 64°F ~ Low: 41°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

Bulldog wrestlers drop pair of duals with SB-L, S/SO

Thursday, December 6, 2012

The Le Mars Community Schools wrestling team fell to Sergeant Bluff-Luton and Sheldon/South O'Brien in a pair of duals Tuesday.

LCS vs Sheldon/South O'Brien

The Bulldogs were within one match of besting S/SO, falling behind 42-38.

"The boys wrestled well last night," LCS head wrestling coach Shane Hessenius said. "The wrestlers were in a battle and they proved that they are a team that will not hang their head, no matter what happens."

Earning LCS' sole pin against S/SO, Juan Hernandez, wrestling at 152, downed Jack Beahler in 4:50.

Tyler Carlson, wrestling for Le Mars at 120, earned a 11-8 decision win over S/SO's Chaz DeRocher.

The Bulldogs also picked up forfeit wins at 106, 113, 120, 132 and 138.

S/SO picked up seven pins in the dual. At 170, Darin Greenfield pinned LCS' Brody Mathey in 3:13. At 182 S/SO's Austin Rohrs pinned Dillan Belt in 1:12.

At 195 S/SO's Brytton Kelleher pinned Chris Hiserote in 3:29. At 285, S/SO's Bryce Kelleher pinned Tevita Moa-Lamp in 1:47. At 126 Josh Gorter, of S/SO, pinned Seth Courtright in 2:22.

At 145, Gunnar Klinker, of S/SO, pinned Luke DeBoer in 1:09. At 160, S/SO's Toby Maggert pinned Kyle Williams in 1:16.

LCS also lost one point for unsportsmanlike conduct.


A strong SB-L team nearly swept the day, winning over Le Mars 70-5.

SB-L coach Clint Koedam marked his 200th win as head coach at the dual.

"Sgt. Bluff is a very good, well coached, team," Hessenius said. "They have been exceptional for the past few years, and will be exceptional for the next few."

SB-L recorded 10 pins, one win by major decision and two wins by decision over Le Mars.

LCS' Tevita Moa-Lamp recorded the sole victory for the Bulldogs. He beat Darian Tillman in 2:45 to earn LCS' only points in the dual.

Earning pins for SB-L were Brett Tomoson (152) over Juan Hernandez in 4:49, Tyler Strong (160) over Kyle Williams in 1:53, Kollin George (170) over Brody Mathey in 1:48, Jason Schmitt (182) over Dillan Belt in 1:25, Tyler Nguyen (220) over Alex Hermes in 1:27, Keegan Putnam (113) over Tanner Francksen-Small in 3:33, Duece Phaley (120) over Tyler Carlson in 4:00, Ryan McKenna (126) over Quenton Boddie in 0:43, Colton McCrystal (132) over Seth Courtright in 1:35, and Harley Starr (145) over Luke DeBoer in 3:48.

SB-L's Devin Phaley (106) won by 13-4 major decision over Nic Madsen, the Warriors' Taylor Christensen (195) won by 5-4 decision over Chris Hiserote and SB-L's Steven Garcia (138) won by 6-1 decision over LCS' Skyler Gries.

LCS also lost one point for unsportsmanlike conduct.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Le Mars Daily Sentinel