FSA county committee voting begins

Thursday, November 8, 2012

Eligible voters began to receive ballots this week for the 2012 Farm Service Agency (FSA) county committee selection.

The deadline to return the ballots is Dec. 3.

Plymouth County candidates are Mike Schnepf, an incumbent, and Lois Bauer, a newcomer on the ballot.

Candidates in Sioux County are Larry Siege, Sherman Township, and Wanda Hoffman, Sherman Township.

People voting will choose one candidate in each of the two counties.

To be an eligible voter, farmers and ranchers must participate or cooperate in an FSA program.

A person who is not of legal voting age, but supervises and conducts the farming operations of an entire farm also may be eligible to vote.

Eligible voters who do not receive ballots in the coming week can obtain ballots from their local USDA Service Center.

The last day for voters to submit ballots in person is Dec. 3 at local USDA Service Centers with the same deadline applying to the mail-in ballots.

Agricultural producers in each county submitted candidate nominations during the nomination period, which ended Aug. 1.

The newly elected committee members and their alternates will take office Jan. 1, 2013. Members will serve three-year terms.

More information on county committees, such as the new 2012 fact sheet and brochures, can be found on the FSA website at www.fsa.usda.gov/elections or at a local USDA Service Center.