Four Elected to Plymouth County Extension Council

Thursday, November 8, 2012

Four Plymouth County residents were elected to the Plymouth County Extension Council in the Nov. 6 general election.

They are Brad Harvey of Akron, Cindy Klemme of Akron, Pat Lehner of Le Mars and Alex Popken of rural Orange City.

Results are unofficial until a review of election results by the Plymouth County Board of Supervisors Nov. 13.

Current members of the council who were re-elected to four-year terms are Harvey and Lehner.

New members who will join the council in January are Klemme and Popken.

The new members will replace Dr. John Conley and Sandy Schnepf, both of Le Mars.

Carryover council members whose terms expire at the end of 2014 are Chad Banks of Westfield, Glen Hayworth of Kingsley, Jim Jauer of Hinton, Julie Madden of Akron, and Jill Utesch of Remsen.

Council members elected in November will begin their terms in January and the council will meet in early January to elect officers.

The Extension Council is the county governing body of Iowa State University Extension and Outreach.

Council members hire county staff, manage the county Extension budget of approximately $339,000 and help determine programming, said Harvey, Extension Council Chairperson.

The county Extension office is located at 251 12th St SE in Le Mars.