[Masthead] Light Rain ~ 45°F  
High: 47°F ~ Low: 39°F
Saturday, Apr. 30, 2016

Marilyn A. Cook

Monday, April 14, 2008

Marilyn "Peachy" Cook, 69, of Le Mars passed away peacefully on Friday April 11, 2008, at Floyd Valley Hospital, following an extended illness.

The former Marilyn Ann Grosenheider was born June 4, 1938, in Le Mars, the daughter of Henry "Jack" and Dorothy (Zimmerman) Grosenheider. She grew up in Le Mars and attended Le Mars Central High School. On Jan. 11, 1955, she married Dale Cook at St. John's Lutheran Church in Le Mars. The couple lived their entire married lives in Le Mars where she was employed for many years with Le Mars Community Schools and later with Le Mars Savings Bank for many years.

Peachy enjoyed going to rummage sales and attending her grandchildren's many activities. She also enjoyed spending time with her family at their Lake Shetek home in Minnesota.

Survivors include her husband Dale Cook of Le Mars; four children: Gary Cook of Le Mars, Terry Cook and his wife Julie of Sioux Falls, S.D., Lorrie Mortensen and her husband Ron of Ketchikan, Alaska, and Larry Cook and his special friend Amy Abraham of New Ulm, Minn.; a very very special daughter-in-law Mollie Cook of Le Mars; seven grandchildren: Ryan, Aaron, and Tyler Mortensen, Tara and Amy Cook, and Jason and Alex Cook; a brother Bob Grosenheider and his wife Elaine of Le Mars; and "adopted" grandchildren: Quinn and Korinne O'Connor and Kerissa, Josh and Katie Feuerstein.

She was preceded in death by her parents; and a grandson Christopher Mortensen.

Funeral services will be at 10:30 a.m. Tuesday at St. John's American Lutheran Church -- ELCA in Le Mars, with the Rev. Gary Landsness officiating. Burial will be in Resthaven Memory Gardens in Le Mars.

Visitation will be from 4 to 8 p.m. Monday at the Feuerstein Funeral Home in Le Mars. Visitation will also be for one hour before the funeral on Tuesday morning at the church.

Pallbearers will be Bob Feuerstein, Charlie Oetken, Byron Bulthuis, Norman Utesch, Henry Herrig and Mike Haverhals. Honorary pallbearers will be Marian Richardson, Glenda Haverhals, Eleanor Westhoff, Lorraine Berkenpas, Dixie Feuerstein and the doctors and staff of Floyd Valley Hospital and Medical Associates.

© 2016 Le Mars Daily Sentinel