[Masthead] Fair ~ 41°F  
High: 64°F ~ Low: 41°F
Monday, May 2, 2016

Bixenman, Ripperda elected to Parks Commission

Wednesday, December 7, 2005

Voters in Le Mars turned out in extremely small numbers Tuesday to elect two new members to the Parks and Recreation Commission.

Incumbent board member Rob Bixenman and newcomer John Ripperda each received 28 votes. Their names appeared on the run-off ballot because both received write-in votes during the Nov. 8 election, but not enough to win a seat.

Bixenman had not sought re-election initially, but agreed to be placed on the ballot when asked by county auditor K. Kae Meyer. Ripperda also signed a affidavit of candidacy after the November election to stand as a candidate for the other open seat.

In the Nov. 8 election, the Parks and Recreation Commission had three seats to fill. Only incumbent Roberta Kass filed paperwork to be a candidate. Several people received write-in votes, but not enough to constitute a victory under Iowa election laws.

Only 30 total ballots were cast in the run-off election. The results remain unofficial until canvassed and certified by the Plymouth County Board of Supervisors Tuesday, Dec. 13, at 9:15 a.m.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Le Mars Daily Sentinel