[Masthead] Overcast ~ 43°F  
High: 53°F ~ Low: 43°F
Friday, Apr. 29, 2016

One race in county for school board seats

Tuesday, August 9, 2005

A total of 12 candidates have filed papers for positions on school boards for the five Plymouth County school districts. One district, Hinton Community, will have a contested race.

Two at-large seats are up for election in the Hinton district, with incumbents Robert D. Held and Kenny J. Hoefling both filing papers for re-election. In addition, three other district residents are seeking the at-large seats. They are Bradley D. Held, Julie Vander Plas and Ed Vondrak, all of Hinton.

In the Le Mars Community School District, incumbents Marjorie Franke of Le Mars and Dan Smith of Merrill will run unopposed. Franke represents district 3 and Smith district 3. In June, Smith has announced he would not seek re-election. He filed for the seat when no one else sought the position.

The Remsen-Union board will have a new member as incumbent Keith Ahlers did not seek re-election to the district 2 seat. The lone candidate for the position is Arlie Pick of Remsen.

Two positions are up for election in the Kingsley-Pierson School district. Incumbent Cindy Inman is the only candidate for the district 4 seat. Bill Riordan is the only candidate for the district 2 seat, held by Bud Herbold, who did not seek re-election.

In the Akron-Westfield School district, board members Roger Oetken and Kirk Banks are unopposed in their bid for their seats on the board. Oetken is an at-large member and Banks represents district 6. No one filed for the district 5 seat currently held by Denise Loutsch.

Thursday, Aug. 4, at 5 p.m. was the last day to file nomination papers with the school secretary.

School elections will be held Tuesday, Sept. 13.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Le Mars Daily Sentinel