[Masthead] Mostly Cloudy ~ 46°F  
High: 55°F ~ Low: 41°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Le Mars school year starts Aug. 25

Tuesday, March 1, 2005

The calendar for students and teachers at Le Mars Community Schools will be similar to this year's schedule, after a unanimous vote Monday evening by the board of education.

The 180-day calendar starts Aug. 25 and ends the second semester Thursday, May 25, 2006. Teachers would have three days of in-service Aug. 22-24. Days off include Sept. 5 for Labor Day, Nov. 11 for teacher in-service, Nov. 24-25 for Thanksgiving break and winter break starting Thursday, Dec. 22.

Classes resume Tuesday, Jan. 3 with the second quarter and first semester ending Friday, Jan. 13. The new semester of 90 days begins Monday, Jan. 16, which is Martin Luther King Jr. Day.

There would be no classes scheduled for Monday, Feb. 20, Presidents Day. The third quarter ends Monday, March 20. Spring vacation will be scheduled from Thursday, April 13 through Monday, April 17.

The last day for seniors in 2006 would be Thursday, May 18, with graduation on Sunday, May 21. Teachers would have in-service Friday, May 26 with Memorial Day observed as a holiday May 29.

School board members chose from three different calendars presented by Dr. Todd Wendt, superintendent. A chart showing preferences by district employees by department had 24 high school teachers preferring an option with an additional in-service or work day between semesters.

If all high school students will be required to take semester tests next year, teachers said they would need additional time to evaluate them. However, that option had the school year beginning a day earlier on Wednesday, Aug. 24.

A third option scheduled an unpaid vacation day between semesters Jan. 16. That schedule attracted the fewest votes from employees.

Maintenance and transportation employees expressed no preference for any of the schedules.

The option chosen, similar to the current calendar, was the consensus of the District Learning and Instructional Impact Team, according to Wendt.



Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:



© 2016 Le Mars Daily Sentinel