[Masthead] Mostly Cloudy ~ 46°F  
High: 55°F ~ Low: 41°F
Sunday, May 1, 2016

Students to perform in Opus Honor Choirs

Tuesday, November 13, 2001

Eleven Le Mars Community Middle School students and an eighth grade student from Gehlen Catholic will represent the two Le Mars schools at the 16th annual Opus Honor Choir Festival on Thursday in Ames.

Andy Neary of Gehlen Catholic and Kayla Koth, Sarah Rae Oetken, Morgan Harden, Rachel Schultz, Jerica Burchard, Tim Hanson, Alan Luense, Ryan Becker, Colin Richards, Eli Young and Kevin Orhlund of Le Mars Community were chosen from apprxoimately 3,200 students nominated by their directors. Selections were made by means of a taped audition.

Directors of the accepted LCS students are Nancy Ewing and Timothy Watson.

Amy Block is vocal instructor at Gehlen Catholic.

A total of 720 positions were filled in the four Opus honor choirs. Guest conducts of the choirs include Patricia Trump, 5th and 6th Elementary Honor Choir; Sandra Chapman, 7-8th Grade Boys Honor Choir; Mary Kay Knapp, 7-8th Grade Girls Honor Choir; and Perry Bekkerus, 9th Grade Mixed Honor Choir.

The 2001 Opus Honor Choirs will perform at 4 p.m. this Thursday, Nov. 14, in CY Stephens Auditorium in the Iowa State Center in Ames. The Opus Honor Choir Festival is under the auspices of the Iowa Choral Directors Association.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration:

© 2016 Le Mars Daily Sentinel